//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

DIY Audio

Lately I been trying find different audio products that I can make myself. For the most obvious reason to save a few dollars and also to say that you made it yourself is pretty cool, I think, maybe I’m just a dork like that.

Last month I started working on a JFET microphone preamp design designed by Eddie Ciletti. What we finished so is the DI in/out and the limiter feature. I have already started using it, and I think it sound great. My latest recordings I used it with at Shure 520DX “Green Bullet” on a harmonica, naturally. The pre amp did every I wanted it to do and I hope to use it on more applications. Now tonight I am starting to complete the rest of preamp. When it is completed I will have a mono microphone preamp with phantom power, a DI, and a limiter all in the same box. Plus a number of bells and whistles to change the sound of the signal.

I hope to have some audio samples up in the near future. In the mean time, check out Eddie’s website, it has all sort of nerdy information for your entertainment. Also Eddie writes a column in Mix Magazine, so check that out as well.

Until next time,

Jordan

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a comment